Phil Mickelson is teeing it up this week at the Greenbrier. It is his first event since his mishap at the US Open, and it wasn’t without controversy yet again.
On Sunday at the Greenbrier, Mickelson was assessed a two stroke penalty for “improving his line of play”. (Video of event at end of article)
Phil Mickelson tapped down fescue grass in front of the tee box on No. 7, and upon realizing the mistake, was assessed a two-stroke penalty (violation of Rule 13-2) @GBRMilitary.
— PGA TOUR Communications (@PGATOURComms) July 8, 2018
There was apparently some tall fracue in front of the tee box which Phill tapped down to allow for his ball flight to miss the fescue.
Now before everyone crucifies Phil for this, I gotta ask, why is the tee box so close to the fescue that a player feels the need to have to do this. I won’t sit here and argue that it’s a dumb penalty, but it’s a dumb penalty especially on the tee box. That being said, Phil called the penalty on himself it appears as he sets to repair his reputation after his last debacle at the US Open. Here’s video of the incident:
After consulting a rules official, Phil Mickelson assessed himself a 2-stroke penalty for improving his line of play (violation of Rule 13-2). pic.twitter.com/61GiY5ggaj
— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) July 8, 2018